Thursday, June 28, 2012

From the Land of Sky Blue Waters (June 2012)

Side A
01. I Melt With You by Modern English
02. Dots and Dashes (Enough Already) by Silversun Pickups
03. Pumpin' for Jill by Iggy Pop
04. Because I Do by X
05. Ain't That Nothin' by Television
06. Stop Your Foolin by Nervous Norvus

Side B
07. DNA by The Kills
08. Black Milk by Massive Attack
09. Dry Bone Valley by Mastodon
10. The Mob Rules by Black Sabbath
11. Beautiful World by Devo
12. Good Feeling by Violent Femmes

The accompanying photo was found in an antique store and I had to buy it. With that, a soundtrack to this mysterious bowling league was born. After all, you know these ladies would crush pins to Black Sabbath and X. Originally, N.W.A.'s "I Ain't tha 1" and Emmylou Harris' "Wheels" were included but the addition of the always enjoyable "Pumpin' for Jill" had a better (albeit, stranger) fit*. So, here you have a bizarre soundtrack to the Ryerson Ladies Bowling League. If you have anything to contribute in regards to the bowling league (especially, if they liked Nervous Norvus or like The Kills), please leave a comment as I'm curious about this origin of the picture and this league.

Support the art and the artists! Play it loud!

Get From the Land of Sky Blue Waters here.

*Note: In case you were curious about the placement of these tracks, "I Ain't tha 1" would came after "Stop Your Foolin" and "DNA" would have, then, closed the first half. "Wheels" would ended the second half and would have originally been after "The Mob Rules." 

No comments:

Post a Comment