Tuesday, January 19, 2010

New Faces, Familiar Feelings Vol. 2 (January 2010 Mixtape)

Side A
01 - "(I Can't Get No) Satisfaction" by Cat Power (Rolling Stones)
02 - Let's Spend The Night Together" by David Bowie (Rolling Stones)
03 - "So Alive" by Black Light Burns (Love And Rockets)
04 - "Wish" by Dillinger Escape Plan (Nine Inch Nails)
05 - "Never Turn Your Back On Mother Earth" by Neko Case (Sparks)
06 - "Back In N.Y.C." by Jeff Buckley (Genesis)
07 - "I Can See For Miles" by Petra Haden (The Who)
08 - "Mr. Crowley" by The Cardigans (Ozzy Osbourne)

Side B
09 - "Atlantic City" by Hank Williams III (Bruce Springsteen)
10 - "Cornflake Girl" by Jawbox (Tori Amos)
11 - "I Just Wanna Have Something To Do" by Garbage (Ramones)
12 - "Darling Nikki" - Foo Fighters (Prince And The Revolution)
13 - "Cold Blooded" by Ol' Dirty Bastard (Rick James)
14 - "Police Story" by Rollins Band feat. Ice-T (Black Flag)
15 - "Tippi-Toes" by Primus (The Meters)
16 - "The Goose" by Fishbone (Parliament)

Another mirror to look into and another reflection to behold. One of wonder, horror, excitement and confusion.  This annual compliation does a great job of combining each of those emotions, depending on how you view each of the songs on their own and in reference to the original recording.  The Cardigans and Petra Haden take two heavier songs in the Rock canon and strip them down to a cappella arangements. Elsewhere, Fishbone, Foo Fighters and Primus rock out to their funky influences. Tori Amos and Love and Rockets are given a bit of a crunch, Rick James gets a bit dirtier and two classic Rolling Stones numbers are sped up and slowed down. As with the last volume, enjoy this compilation for yourself and as a way of looking back on things you knew or loved but in a new light.

Download New Faces, Familiar Feelings Vol. 2 here.

No comments:

Post a Comment