Tuesday, September 28, 2010

The Return Of Pinkerton

Although it was widely regarded as a commercial and critical flop upon its initial release, Pinkerton has been fondly remembered, in recent years, as two things: one of the foundations for the modern emo sound and the last great/memorable album featuring frontman Rivers Cuomo's openly honest and brilliantly catchy songwriting. I prefer to think of it as one of the best albums of the 90's and, well, to a degree, the latter thing I said earlier (Weezer ("The Green Album") is pretty catchy and the last cohesive Weezer album in my mind). Fourteen years later, Pinkerton is finally getting the respect it always deserved with a special edition, double-disc, 26-track collection featuring the album, b-sides and 16 unreleased tracks from live and studio sessions. The collection is due November 2 and if, for some reason, you do not own this or think "Beverly Hills" is the greatest song ever, you owe it to yourself to purchase this for your ears, heart and music collection. A tracklist can be found after the jump.

Pinkerton (Deluxe Edition)
Disc One
01. Tired of Sex
02. Getchoo
03. No Other One
04. Across the Sea
05. Why Bother?
06. The Good Life
07. El Scorcho
08. Pink Triangle
09. Falling for You
10. Butterfly
11. You Gave Your Love to Me Softly
12. Devotion
13. The Good Life (Radio Remix)
14. Waiting on You
15.  I Just Threw Out the Love of My Dreams
16. The Good Life (Live and Acoustic)
17. Pink Triangle (Radio Remix)
18. I Swear It's True*
19. Pink Triangle (Live and Acoustic)

Disc Two
01. You Won't Get With Me Tonight*
02. The Good Life (Live at Y100 Sonic Session)*
03. El Scorcho (Live at Y100 Sonic Session)*
04. Pink Triangle (Live at Y100 Sonic Session)*
05. Why Bother? (Live at Reading Festival 1996)*
06. El Scorcho (Live at Reading Festival 1996)*
07. Pink Triangle (Live at Reading Festival 1996)*
08. The Good Life (Live at X96)
09. El Scorcho (Live and Acoustic)*
10. Across the Sea Piano Noodles*
11. Butterfly (Alternate Take)*
12. Long Time Sunshine*
13. Getting Up and Leaving*
14. Tired of Sex (Tracking Rough)*
15. Getchoo (Tracking Rough)*
16. Tragic Girl*

* = previously unreleased

Pinkerton (Deluxe Edition) is out November 2.

1 comment:

  1. Never say never. Sadly, I think the show is sold out now.